classes

Has it been a long time since you've been on a bike or are you simply looking for a refresher? Come learn the basics of bicycling at our Intro to Bicycling Workshops, hosted by the Silicon Valley Bicycle Coalition (Peninsula classes) and the San Francisco Bicycle Coalition (San Francisco classes).

Each course is a one-hour presentation covering many of the basics: the rules of the road, route planning, and, especially for Bay Area Bike Share riders, Bike Share 101. Classes marked with an asterisk (*) will end with an optional guided ride on Bay Area Bike Share.

San Francisco: Intro Course
May 28, 2015
6:30pm - 7:30pm
San Francisco Bicycle Coalition

Redwood City: Intro Course + Guided Ride*
June 16, 2015
5:30pm - 7pm
Redwood City Public Library

Events

Bay Area Bike Share is hosting a series of demonstrations and participating in events around town to provide Bay Area residents the opportunity to learn more about bike share! Come out, meet our team, and have all of your questions answered. Bring a helmet and try out one of our bikes!

SubZERO Festival
June 6, 2015
6pm - 10pm
San Jose SoFa District

Please check back to find new dates, times and locations of upcoming events and demonstrations. If you're interested in having Bay Area Bike Share at your event, please email with details.

Past Events

Mountain View: Intro Course + Guided Ride*
May 12, 2015
6:30pm - 8pm
Mountain View Public Library

San Francisco: Intro Course
May 11, 2015
6:30pm - 7:30pm
San Francisco Bicycle Coalition

San Jose: Intro Course + Guided Ride*
Thursday, April 23, 2015
5:30pm - 7pm
King Library; Downtown San Jose

Palo Alto: Intro Course + Guided Ride*
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
7pm - 8:30pm
Palo Alto Bicycles

Redwood City: Intro Course + Guided Ride*
Thursday, April 2, 2015
5:30pm - 7pm
Redwood City Library

Mountain View: Intro Course + Guided Ride*
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
6:30pm - 8pm
Mountain View Public Library

Sunday Streets: Embarcadero
Sunday, March 8, 2015

San Jose: Intro Course + Guided Ride*
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
5:30pm - 7pm
King Library; Downtown San Jose

Redwood City: Intro Course + Guided Ride
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
5:30pm - 7pm
Redwood City Library

San Francisco: Intro Course
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
6pm - 7pm
San Francisco Bicycle Coalition

Palo Alto: Intro Course
Monday, December 15, 2014
7pm - 8pm
Mike's Bikes

Hometown Holidays
Saturday, December 6, 2014
10am - 6pm
Courthouse Square

Palo Alto: Intro Course
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
7pm - 8pm
Mike's Bikes

Palo Alto: Intro Course
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
7pm - 8pm
Mike's Bikes

Palo Alto: Intro Course
Thursday, October 23, 2014
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Palo Alto Medical Foundation

EV Week: Charge Across Town
Monday and Tuesday, October 6 and 7, 2014
Civic Center Plaza

Celebrate our 1st Birthday!
Members, visit us at designated stations on August 28 and 28 for free Chipotle coupons + more!

Palo Alto: Intro Course
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
7pm - 8pm

Mountain View: Intro Course
Thursday, August 21, 2014
5:30pm - 6:30pm

San Francisco: Intro Course
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
5pm - 6pm
153 Townsend St

San Jose: Intro Course
Thursday, August 7, 2014
5:30 - 6:30 pm

San Jose: Intro Course
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
5:30 - 6:30 pm

Redwood City: Intro Course*
Thursday, July 31, 2014
5 - 6 pm

Mountain View: Intro Course
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
5:30 - 6:30 pm

Pedalfest
Jack London Square
Saturday, July 26, 2014

San Jose: Intro Course
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
5:30- 6:30 pm

Mountain View: Intro Course
Thursday, July 17, 2014
5:30 - 6:30 pm

Redwood City: Intro Course*
Thursday, July 10, 2014
5 - 6 pm

Mountain View: Intro Course
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
5:30 - 6:30 pm

San Francisco Pride
Downtown San Francisco
Saturday and Sunday, June 28 - June 29, 2014

Redwood City: Intro Course
Tuesday, June 10, 2014

San Francisco: Intro Course
Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Bike to Shop Day
Participate in the 1st Annual "Bike to Shop Day" and take advantage of great discounts throughout the Silicon Valley
Saturday, May 17, 2014

Redwood City: Intro Course + Guided Ride*
Thursday, May 15, 2014
5pm to 6pm
Redwood City Library

Bike to Work Day!
Thursday, May 8, 2014
Ride to work and pick up goodies at "energizer stations" throughout the Bay Area!

CycloFemme Mother's Day Ride
Register and join the global movement!
Sunday, May 11, 2014

San Jose: Intro Course*
Tuesday, May 6, 2014
5:30pm to 6:30pm
MLK Library

Sunday Streets: Tenderloin
Sunday, April 13, 2014

Bay Area Bike Share Open Data Challenge: Hack Night
Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Urban Bicycling Workshop
Wednesday, April 2, 2014

San Francisco International Automobile Show
Moscone Center
Thursday to Monday, November 28 – December 2,2013

Urban Bicycling Workshop
San Francisco Bicycle Coalition HQ
Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Sunday Streets: Richmond
Sunday, October 27, 2013

Sunday Streets: Excelsior
Sunday, September 29, 2013

Music on the Square
Friday, September 27, 2013

APA Bike Share Panel
MLK Library, Room 225/229
Monday, September 23, 2013

Ghirardelli Square Chocolate Festival
Ghirardelli Square
Saturday and Sunday, September 14-15, 2013

Golden Gate University Lifestyle Fair
536 Mission St
Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Friday Transportation Seminar
UC Berkeley
Friday, September 6, 2013

South First Fridays
San Jose
Friday, September 6, 2013

PAL Blues Festival
Redwood City
August 24 - August 25, 2013

Palo Alto Festival of the Arts
August 24 – August 25, 2013

Sunday Streets: Tenderloin
San Francisco
August 18, 2013

Nihonmachi Street Fair
San Francisco
August 3 - 4, 2013

Sunday Streets: Mission
San Francisco
July 28, 2013

SPUR Bike Share Panel
San Jose
July 18, 2013